Blog Tour: To Break A Covenant // Reasons why you should read this book + Reactions

Hello everyone! Today is my stop on the To Break A Covenant Tour hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours! A big thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours as well as the author and publisher for providing me with an early copy of this book!

Title: To Break A Covenant

Author: Alison Ames

Release Date: September 21st, 2021

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Nobles / Book Depository / Indigo

Content Warning: Gore! lots of gore/blood (human and animal), body horror (human and animal),claustrophobia, hallucinations/nightmares, death, animal death, parent death (mentioned),parental conflict (being afraid of a parent), mention of alcohol/drinking, mention of self-harm, mention of divorce, mental illness (perceived/actual), mention of child death/killing, mention of suicide, drowning, paranormal activity.

Debut voice Alison Ames delivers with a chilling, feminist thriller, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Sawkill Girls.

Moon Basin has been haunted for as long as anyone can remember. It started when an explosion in the mine killed sixteen people. The disaster made it impossible to live in town, with underground fires spewing ash into the sky. But life in New Basin is just as fraught. The ex-mining town relies on its haunted reputation to bring in tourists, but there’s more truth to the rumors than most are willing to admit, and the mine still has a hold on everyone who lives there.

Clem and Nina form a perfect loop—best friends forever, and perhaps something more. Their circle opens up for a strange girl named Lisey with a knack for training crows, and Piper, whose father is fascinated with the mine in a way that’s anything but ordinary. The people of New Basin start experiencing strange phenomena—sleepwalking, night terrors, voices that only they can hear. And no matter how many vans of ghost hunters roll through, nobody can get to the bottom of what’s really going on. Which is why the girls decide to enter the mine themselves.

One: Creepy and Unsettling atmosphere

This was my first time reading a YA book in the genre of Horror. I have never read any books or watched anything that has a horror element to it. I decided to take a risk on this book because once I read the synopsis I was hooked. Let me say that I was not disappointed.

From page one, you get this creepy and unsettling atmosphere from the town of Moon Basin. From the strange occurrences of pets disappearing, ghost shows showing up every few years, and stories of the mine that lingers near old town.

It creates a nail-biting, dark atmosphere making you want to get away from them as soon as possible. You get submerged in the town of Moon Basin, and in a way, that narration draws you towards it.

Two: Genuine Friendships and Unique Personalities

Books sometimes lack friendships that readers can fall in love with, and sometimes characters can fall flat in those situations. But in this book, It wasn’t a problem. All of the girls in the group had their personalities and quirks that made them who they were.


They had a ride-and-die friendship, where nothing could tear them apart. When things started to get rough, they never abandoned one another. In the end, they came back together. It was absolutely enjoyable to read, and what friendships should be like.

Three: Ghost Hunters and Interviews

Within each chapter, there would be interviews between Ghost Hunters from various shows and the residents of Moon Basin. This was such a clever way for the author to add more world-building to the town of Moon Basin avoiding the dreaded info-dumping that occurs in many books.

Through these interviews, we were able to see how other residents viewed these paranormal experiences and how they affected their day-to-day lives. We saw how these experiences didn’t just affect residents of Moon Basin, but the ghost hunters as well.

It showed how many residents had no idea what was going on; they were in fear of their lives. Many tried to cope with the activity, but it was hard to once the darkness got ahold of you.

Four: LGBTQ+ Representation

I’m not going to go into too much detail because I may spoil it, but there is LGBTQ+ representation in this book! This is always great to see because people can feel represented in literature and be recognized.

The author does a fantastic job of not letting this overtake the story but to help to advance the characters’ arc and the overall storytelling. Sometimes having the romance aspect take over the story can lead to a slow-moving plot, but this did not occur here!

Five: The mysteries surrounding Moon Basin

Writing a good book that readers will enjoy is a hard task. But one of the things I’ve noticed is that readers like to be kept on the edge of their seats and spawn a slew of theories of what will happen next.

I questioned why these abnormal occurrences were happening in Moon Basin and what they were fueled by. Even when I finished the book, I still had more questions that I wanted to be answered. What makes a good book is when the author leaves lingering thoughts in your brain. It gets you talking about a book and sharing it with others.

One: A cemetery is an interesting place to make a friend but now it makes sense now why they meet there

Two: The basin is creeping me out. I wonder why people disappear when they leave town. Also, why do all the pets die when they leave their owner’s houses?

Three: Blood on Clem, Piper’s father is acting weird, and strange sensations when you enter the mine, BIG RED FLAG!

Four: I like how almost each chapter has an interview from the ghost shows. It adds more perspectives of others from around town about the strange happenings occurring

Five: I like how Clem believes in the paranormal activity and Nina doesn’t. It makes for an interesting dynamic in their friendship

Six: That’s sweet how they became blood sisters. Except when they had to cut into their hands. A bit dangerous, if you ask me.

Seven: It’s almost like Piper’s dad is becoming the mine and the state of their house is…not good

Eight: That was so horrifying. I would have screamed bloody murder and ran out of there if I was able to

Nine: Do NOT split up. Number one movie in a horror movie. Everyone always breaks it.

Ten: Maybe each of their experiences in the cave had to do with them personally? Maybe it’s based on their fears or beliefs? Like how Lisey is known for her crows.

Eleven: About to eat tater tots and blow up the mine to get rid of the evil in Moon Basin. Sign me up!

Twelve: The hallucinations with the dead deer standing up was disgusting. I would have the EXACT same reaction as Clem.

Thirteen: I’ve been waiting for this moment since the beginning. It finally happened!

Fourteen: No it can’t be. She really can’t be….I don’t want even to say it.

Fifteen: The ending was simple and concise. But I still have so many questions that need to be answered. I guess I’ll never know….It was probably the author’s intention to keep us guessing till the very end.

Alison Ames is a writer based in Colorado. Her debut novel To Break A Covenant will be published in fall 2021.

Website / Twitter / Instagram / Goodreads

Be sure to check out the rest of the TBR and Beyond blog tour for To Break A Covenant! You can check the schedule down below! There are some amazing bloggers and bookstagrammers on here that you should check out!

Tour Schedule

September 20th
lousbookstuff – Review & Favourite Quotes
Rampant Reading Reviews – Review
I Dream in Books – Review & TikTok

September 21st
Pages & Plot – Promo Post
Emelie’s Books – Review & Mood Board
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review
The Book Wiccan – Review & Favourite Quotes

September 22nd
Stuck in Fiction – Promo Post
JD’s Book Journal – Review & Favourite Quotes
Bibliosini – Review & Favourite Quotes
Paperbacks and Planners – Review & Mood Board

September 23rd
Kait Plus Books – Journal Spread & Promo
Althea Is Reading – Review & Mood Board
Books and Babble – Review & Playlist

September 24th
The Book Dutchesses – Promo Post
A Book & Chai – Review
Stuck in the Stacks – Review
The Broke Book Blog – Review, Playlist & TikTok

September 25th
Nine Bookish Lives – Review
Forthenovellovers – Review
Inking & Thinking – Top 5 Reasons to Read To Break a Covenant & 15 Reactions While Reading to Break a Covenant
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review

September 26th
Reading Stewardess – Review & Mood Board
Read With Holy – Review
Justice For Readers – Review & Mood Board

Instagram Schedule

September 20th
shereadytoread – Review & Top 5 Reasons to Read To Break a Covenant
rampant_reading – Blogger’s Choice
idreaminbooks – Blogger’s Choice

September 21st
tbrandbeyond – Promo Post
gwendalyn_books_ – Blogger’s Choice
thebookwiccan – Blogger’s Choice

September 22nd
feliciareads11 – Blogger’s Choice
readbycait – Review
bibliosini – Blogger’s Choice
planners.and.paperbacks – Blogger’s Choice

September 23rd
wild.legends – Book Look & Top 5 Reasons to Read To Break a Covenant

September 24th
thebookdutchesses – Blogger’s Choice
thereadingowlvina – Review
stuck.in.the.stacks -Blogger’s Choice
thebrokebookblog – Blogger’s Choice

September 25th
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
fangirlpixiebooks – Promo
popthebutterfly – Blogger’s Choice

September 26th
skygoddess1 – Blogger’s Choice
thelindenbookie – Review
justiceforreaders – Blogger’s Choice

What are your thoughts on To Break A Covenant? Will you be adding it to your TBR?

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

11 thoughts on “Blog Tour: To Break A Covenant // Reasons why you should read this book + Reactions

  1. Pingback: TOUR SCHEDULE: To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames – TBR and Beyond Tours

  2. Pingback: Book Tour: To Break A Covenant by Alison Ames – Justice for Readers

  3. Pingback: september wrap-up – stories with saima

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s